Strix Devlogs

Blogging stuff about life, projects, etc.
Some devlogs too.
dendiz
Site Admin

Strix Devlogs

Post by dendiz » Wed Oct 10, 2018 8:36 pm

---
title: "devlog #1"
date: 2018-05-29
---

summary
  • setup of a new project
I mentioned on my micro blog that I have a tendency to work on projects in cycles. These cycles are work on games/work on financial projects. I have noticed this
in the past 2 years. I started working on chess related projects, then the sudden crypto trading boom happened, and I started playing with trading projects. Then the crypto market crashed and I became less interested in the markets and started working on another TBS game. Now the Turkish Lira is crashing and I'm once again interested in the markets. So this time I want to make a project that analyzes US stocks and runs scanners on the price data to generate signals. I want the system to be like twitter where you follow companies and the signals appear in the companies timeline.

The architecture so far is pretty simple
stocktoot.png
stocktoot.png (361.98 KiB) Viewed 406 times
I get the stock data from IEX and cache it in Redis. N signal scanners will run on this data to generate signals and the signal results are stored in MySQL. There is a signal point system that is arbitrary at the moment. I assign a multiplier and a adder value to each signal that I will use later to generate the points. If the instruments generates signal points above a certain value it will emit a signal.

dendiz
Site Admin

Re: Strix Devlogs

Post by dendiz » Wed Oct 10, 2018 8:39 pm

---
title: "devlog #2"
date: 2018-05-30
---

summary
  • UI design
  • technicals
  • performance
now that the foundation for getting the data and caching properly was complete
and I had a couple of scanners going I started on the technical indicator calculations. The first batch contains
  • price
  • price change percentage
  • ATR
  • ADX, and DI +/-
  • Long, medium and short term trends based on moving averages